• February 2010
    M T W T F S S
        Mar »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • feedburner

  • Follow me on Twitter

Classical Music Resonates With Me


I love classical music, always have. Some people I meet now say – Oh well you must have grown up with it, that’s why you like it. I tell them no, the people I grew up with – some of them actually hated it – the rest didn’t understand. My birth family, on my mother’s side at least, is kind of the same way. I don’t know where I got it from – father’s genes maybe – but I have loved classical music ever since I was a little girl.  It just resonates with something deep inside. I don’t like everything called Classical, but when I hear Dvorak, Brahms, Rachmaninoff, Vaughn Williams, and the like I respond.  Also Tchaikovsky, Borodin, and Rimsky-Korsakov – ahh Scheherazade.  🙂  Maybe I’m part Russian.

I think different people just have different ears. Or brain receptors. I can’t stand a steel guitar for instance but a lot of my family love it. But let me put Dvorak on the CD player and some will go ballistic. I don’t understand. But neither do they.
I think resonate is a good word. Like piano strings. The higher notes have three strings and they all have to resonate at the same frequency. If one is off you get that twangy response. Out of tune.
Perhaps each person has a resonance frequency and responds to what matches it. Poetry has its own frequency. Some people only resonate to rhyme or maybe alliteration. Others can feel the flow of a freer format. You have to write (play, etc.) what resonates with you and then hope for someone with a like frequency, so to speak, to come along.

11 Responses

  1. Thanks you for this, Carolyn. I think. Finally getting to know people and connect names, etc. And so I understand that you are deepercolors and Carolyn, and the author of this exceptional blog. Thank you for your references on the Devil’s Trill. I listened to many different versions, Then I got your Isak Perlemen, although I think I had heard the 13 year old. But this was a different movement. I have it that the devil’s trill, must be the third movement, but I could be wrong. Also great to connect it with Paganini, and his devil music. So I think it was a great experience all round. I love to do research on these blogs of Rik Scott. And it is so nice to find you. Enjoy your music.
    The composers I played most in the 80’s were:
    I learned all of Well Tempered Clavier
    I can or could play all of Mozart’s Piano Sonatas, and all of Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas, except the last four or five from his third period. They proved to be too difficult, although I could play parts of them. Glad to meet another bug.
    But I still liked the dramatic effects, and think that was a great performance of the Trill on RikScott’s post.
    Talk to you soon.

    • That’s what I just said. If you like it, you like it. If you don’t, you don’t. That’s your ear’s choice. And mine and they are both right – for us.
      Rik’s choice was interesting, but I much prefer the others. My ear is my ear.
      I wish I could play piano like that. I can barely get through Fur Elise these days and still bog down in a couple of places.

      • It took me a long time, but it was ‘good’ for me. I did have ambition, but I admired the violinist Rik introduced us to, because, (my taste) I really thought she had exceptional technique. So the dramatic presentation is fine. I’m over the hill now, and so I’m a little less serious about serious music than I was when I was a ‘fanatic’. But Fur Elise is a challenge. After Beethoven, piano gets rough, especially if you haven’t got ‘large hands’. The romantics really write some ‘wide arched’ chords. Oh well. We can play what we can play. And I wouldn’t have the energy anymore to tackle any of them, any more. Would love to hear you play Fur Elise (sp?) though. Enjoy.

  2. P.S. I answered your posting on RikScot’s blog here so that I would/could get a subscription. And yes, it’s worked, I’m now one of your followers. The best.

  3. Thanks. I don’t consider myself a classical music ‘fanatic’. I just love it. That’s my point.
    I know what you mean about hands. I have a small hand. Too small really for my viola much less the piano sometimes. I have read that Brahms had a large hand. If you’ve ever tried playing him, you will believer it. I hvae to ‘roll’ a lot of chords and the spaces between the fingers are also a challenge. Like Beethoven’s Moonlight. Trying to keep that melody in the little finger of the right hand (mine is shorter than normal for my hand too) soaring while playing all the other notes (softly!) is a challenging and sometimes slightly painful endeavor.

  4. I called myself a fanatic. I hoped you would get the joke. I was not thinking in any way of your relation to music, for I cannot even know your mind. I intended no comparison. Indeed, it is important for me to continue to develop more and more so that I don’t have either emotional or intellectual independence on others. I am still seeking to be self-sufficient in this regards. Please – I am talking about myself again, but if there is ever any thing that you might find help to yourself in my comments, please – you are independent and can make use of whatever I put out there. After all, as we are learning, these are our interpretations.
    You understood too what I meant by the hand-width.
    Yes, I too have attempted Brahms. He is the pace setter as far as I am concerned for the Romantic use of more than octave spanning chords. So I think we both understand one another and agree on essentials, which is I believe a wonderful accomplishment. I will be looking forward to reading your Blog. The name of yours posts means a great deal to me. I think we share a lot in common – different generations mind you. But differences are the basis for learning and growth too. All the best.

  5. P.S. dependence on others. (a relative thing mind you!) grin grin.

  6. Carolyn, this reminds me of something that happened when I was an 18-yr.-old college freshman.

    In theory class, the professor, a composer and violist, played a recording of something contempory, for tape and chorus, I think. Although I was a music major, I didn’t like it.

    After class, I hung around to ask the professor how I could learn to like contemporary music.

    His answer: keep listening, and you will hear something you like.

    True!

  7. Good answer, Gretchen. I like it.

  8. I am very thankful to this topic because it really gives great information ‘”:

Comments are closed.

