• March 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • feedburner

  • Follow me on Twitter

The Artist’s Way: The Basic Principles


Clearing pathways and becoming a channel:
Just show up at the page and write down what you hear. Can it be that easy? Only, evidently, according to Julia, if you can get clear of all the clutter and dams that are obstructing the path of the creative flow.
Some more thoughts from the author that struck me:
– Creating is more like eavesdropping and less like inventing a b0mb.
– The artist is essentially a channel. Get out of the way and let it work through you.
– Creativity is our true nature
– Once we remove the blocks, the flow moves in
I can admit knowing a little of the feeling of what she is talking about in this chapter. I have gone into to what I call a right-brained state of consciousness where it is like someone else is writing, or maneuvering the paint brush. Some of my best work, if not all, occurred during periods like this. I hope I can learn how to control that more, then.

