• March 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • feedburner

  • Follow me on Twitter

Artist’s Way: More Basic Principles


Julia calls her method a ‘spiritual chiropractic. Getting everything properly aligned with the creative energy of the universe. That reminds me, I need to see my chiropractor again. It works for the back, maybe it will work for the spirit too. Who knows? So here I go with the basic principles.

1. Creativity is the natural order of life.

2. Underlying creative force in all life – including us.

3. Open ourselves to creativity – open ourselves to the creator’s (define this term to suit yourself) creativity

4. We are meant to continue creativity

5. Using our creativity is our gift back to the universe (God, creator, etc.)

6. refuse to be creative is counter to our true nature

7. be open to exploring our creativity opens us to good orderly direction.

8. Gentle but powerful changes can be expected

9. It’s safe to open ourselves to greater creativity

10. Moving towards our dreams moves us toward our own ‘divinity’

I was reading this when a Brahms symphony came on the radio. To the side of the page I was reading at the time was a quote from that composer. “Straightway the ideas flow in upon me, directly from God. As I listened – I think it was the third movement of the Third Symphony – I thought, there is certainly something divine going on here. I bookmarked the chapter, closed my eyes and listened to the swell of the cellos, like rolling ocean waves speeding the ships way home to its destination. Some, a lot really, of people say they don’t like classical music. I just don’t understand. I don’t like everything that is classified as classical, but I do love Brahms. See my earlier post about resonance. Those particular sounds definitely align with my soul. Or spirit. Or creative nature. Whatever you want to call it.

Even though Julia does use the term god, she says not to get hung up on it. Substitute the term you are most comfortable with. Phrases like, the creative potential itself in human beings is the image of God. Or as Brahms attributes his talent as coming from God, the inspiration to create comes from somewhere – out side of ourselves – remove the blocks and let it in.  Or perhaps from inside as well – let it out is what’s needed.

3 Responses

  1. Thanks the author for article. The main thing do not forget about users, and continue in the same spirit.

  2. The subject is fully clear but why does the text lack clarity? But in general your blog is great.

Comments are closed.

