Down with vagueness. Up with touch, hear, see, taste, or smell.


I am recommending Becky Levine’s blog, especially her post today. Perhaps this only speaks to me, but it is, as Dick points out in my writing and in others’ as well, going to the specific rather than the generic term makes the writing more vibrant and alive. Here’s the beginning paragraph.

Posted by beckylevine
When I critique, I make a lot of notes asking for an author to be more specific, more concrete, to come up with a tangible image or object or action to take place of a vague word or phrase. And when I revise my own work, frankly, I love the  magic that happens when I manage to find those vagueness in my writing and replace them with something a reader can touch, hear, see, taste, or smell.

http://beckylevine.com/

