• June 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • feedburner

  • Follow me on Twitter

The first poem ever composed in Ireland?


According to John O’Donahue, this is traditionally believed to be the first poem ever composed in Ireland. Instead of Descartes’s “cogito ergo sum,” I think therefore I am, it is I am because everything else is –The Celtic sense of the complexity of the individual..

Attributed to  Amairgen [Amergin] * , chief poet of the Milesans, on setting foot on the land of Ireland. 1500 B.C.E

I am the wind which breathes upon the sea,

I am the wave of the ocean,

Go to fullsize imageI am the murmur of the billows,

I am the ox of the seven combats,

I am the vulture upon the rocks,

I am a beam of the sun,

I am the fairest of plants.

I am the wild boar in valor,

I am the salmon in the water,

I am a lake in the plain,

I am a world of knowledge,

I am the point of the lance of battle,

I am the God who created the fire in the head.


*  Amergin Glúingel (“white knees”) or Glúnmar (“big knee”) was a druid, bard and judge for the Milesians in the Irish Mythological Cycle. He was appointed Chief Ollam of Ireland by his two brothers the kings of Ireland. A number of poems attributed to Amergin are part of the Milesian mythology.

Composers who were born today – June 19


Composers who were born today – June 19 – Stamitz and Marcello wrote a music for viola, so I have actually heard of them. :-]

19 June 1701 François Rébel

19 June 1717 Johann Stamitz

19 June 1842 Karl Zeller

19 June 1854 Alfredo Catalani

19 June 1747 Allesandro Marcello