• June 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • feedburner

  • Follow me on Twitter

Composers and musicians born today: June 22


June 22, 1830Theodor Leschetizky, the Polish pianist, teacher and composer was born at Lancut. His famous teacher was Czerny (he of the faous Edudes every pianist learns) . Leschetizky’s students included Schnabel, Gabrilowitsch and Paderewski.

I am ashamed to admit that I have only heard of Czerny and Paderewski.  Paderewski was also a diplomat and the third Prime Minster of the Republic of Poland.  I didn’t know that. He also owned a vineyard in Rancho San Ignacio, near Paso Robles, in San Luis Obispo County, on the central coast of California. I didn’t know that either.  I know, today is not his birthday, but it interesting (to pianists at least).

2 Responses

  1. Thank you for visiting my blog and for leaving such a nice comment. I have to admit that I don’t know an awful lot about pianists but it is always interesting to know what makes the days special.

    Take Care,
    Angel.

    • Your photos reminded me of my trip. I hope to return someday. Maybe I’ll write a novel ther and I can sit at the little whitewashed place and contemplate the countryside. 🙂

Comments are closed.

