Starry Starry Night – Meteor Showers in Mexico.


These are from May 6, not the 24th, but I liked them. The second one reminds me of Van Gogh. Do you think there was a meteor shower when he painted Starry Starry Night?

A meteor lights up the night sky over the Mexican volcano Popocatepetl near the village San Nicolas de los Ranchos in the early hours of December 14, 2004. The shower, named Geminid because it appears to originate from the constellation Gemini, lit up the sky with dozens of shooting stars per hour.

http://www.csmonitor.com/CSM-Photo-Galleries/In-Pictures/Meteor-showers/%28photo%29/5

.

.

.

.

This meteor shower was recorded in the northern Mexican state Sonora in the early morning hours on Nov. 18, 1999.

http://www.csmonitor.com/CSM-Photo-Galleries/In-Pictures/Meteor-showers/%28photo%29/7

5 Responses

  1. Awesome & Cool!

    We love watching meteor showers, but these images are spectacular.

    • There’s more at the Christian Science Monitor site. I really did thin Van Gogh when I saw the 2nd one. I stayed awake her for a couple of the Leonids, but didn’t see anything from where I was. These look spectacular.
      Starry Starry night indeed.

  2. […] Starry Night – Meteor Showers in Mexico. « Life as a Writer and Artist […]

  3. Shadows on the hills
    Sketch the trees and daffodils
    Catch the breeze and the winter chills
    In colors on the snowy linen land …

    Oh, I do wish I could see a meteor shower!

Comments are closed.

