Starry Starry Night – Vincent and Don McLean


This goes with the post

Starry Starry Night – Meteor Showers in Mexico.

Vincent (Starry, Starry Night)   Sung by Don McLean

Starry, starry night

Paint your palette blue and grey

Look out on a summer’s day

With eyes that know the darkness in my soul

Shadows on the hills

Sketch the trees and daffodils

Catch the breeze and the winter chills

In colours on the snowy linen land

Now I understand

What you tried to say to me

And how you suffered for your sanity

And how you tried to set them free

They would not listen

They did not know how

Perhaps they’ll listen now

Starry, starry night

Flaming flowers that brightly blaze

Swirling clouds and violet haze

Reflect in Vincent’s eyes of china blue

Colours changing hue

Morning fields of amber grain

Weathered faces lined in pain

Are soothed beneath the artists’ loving hand

Now I understand

What you tried to say to me

And how you suffered for your sanity

And how you tried to set them free

They would not listen

They did not know how

Perhaps they’ll listen now

For they could not love you

But still your love was true

And when no hope was left inside

On that starry, starry night

You took your life as lovers often do

But I could have told you Vincent

This world was never meant for one as beautiful as you

Like the strangers that you’ve met

The ragged men in ragged clothes

The silver thorn of bloody rose

Lie crushed and broken on the virgin snow

Now I think I know

What you tried to say to me

And how you suffered for your sanity

And how you tried to set them free

They would not listen

They’re not listening still

Perhaps they never will…

11 Responses

  1. True poetry in those lyrics, I adore the song.

  2. Beautiful and poignant post.

    Loved the juxtaposition between Don’s poetic lyrics and Vincent’s paintings ~ most of which I don’t even care for.

    Except for his paintings of starry nights . . . which I adore.

    • I like the irises too. We emulated him in a painting class. Some people did Starry Night, on the inside of a room, and I picked the irises. not the whole painting thought, just a section of it.

  3. […] While many of Vincent’s paintings speak of despair, loneliness, and heartache, his star-studded night skies seem to hold out the hope and promise of happiness. This goes with the post Starry Starry Night – Meteor Showers in Mexico. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nkvLq0TYiwI Vincent (Starry, Starry Night)   Sung by Don McLean Starry, starry night Paint your palette blue and grey Look out on a summer’s day With eyes that know the darkness in my soul Shadows on the hills Sketch the trees and daffodils Catch the breeze and the winter chills In colours on the snowy linen land Now I understand What you tried … Read More […]

  4. I remember listening to this song over and over and over again when I was in college…Don McLean was then and still is a favorite. (His first album, which came out, I believe, in 1971 or ’72, had Vincent on it, as well as two others I’ve never forgotten: “Crossroads,” and “By the Waters of Babylon.” which is a folk canon that he does beautifully.) There is a cloud pattern that occurs around here occasionally either just before or just after a storm. I have never seen it anywhere else, but I call it the “Van Gogh Sky.” The way the clouds are swirled together reminds me of his star swirls, and it always makes me gasp in awe. To date, I’ve not had a camera with me when I’ve seen it, but someday…

  5. Surely no more poignant, tragic words have ever been spoken than “The sadness will never end.” Breaks my heart every time I read it, because there is only One Thing that lasts forever, and sadness is not it. “Weeping and sadness may endure for a night, but Joy comes in the morning.”

  6. But sometime it is too far ’til morning for some people.

  7. I am going to post another of my poems on my Writing – Poetry page

Comments are closed.

