Reusable bags may present health risk


Well, here we go. Don’t use the plastic bags, they say, or even the paper ones. But now – the reusable bags may be harmful to your health? Even E-coli was mentioned!  It’s no big deal, just throw them in the washing machine. Every time you use them? Heck, I can’t remember to take them into the store half the time anyway. I am not an award winning housekeeper or organizer (boy is that an understatement).  I have to wash and organize the trash  as it is. Now I have to worry about the reusable bags.

I guess it makes sense though, and I intend to do as needed. It just that it struck me as one more problem in the already overflowing list of things I need to do today.  See the full article and a video at

Reusable bags may present health risk.

8 Responses

  1. Does this mean I have to take all twelve of my grandchildren with me to WalMart and have each of them carry as much as they can hold to keep from having to use any bags of any kind?????

    • Yes, Judy!

      It will be good exercise for them . . . and it will ultimately be their planet down the road. : )

      Except, stop shopping at Walmart ~ the Waltons are intent on destroying the planet.

      Wait, even better, stop shopping at all. Grow your own fruits and veggies, and make your clothes out of old curtains like Scarlett did.

      LOL

      It is hard to live sustainably on a planet that is very non-sustainably spiraling out of control.

      • I like the idea of the garden 🙂 Unfortunately you have to have some ground for that. I do grow a few things in pots, but that’s limited.
        And it is indeed unfortunate to see what’s happened to Walmart. Sam Walton must be turning over in his grave. His ideas were Made in America and more local control and specializations depending on the neighborhoods. So sad to see the rich kids take it over and ship jobs overseas just so they can sell us cheap goods back again. Grrr..

  2. I just read the article.

    The pertinent part:

    “The contamination happens when food, such as raw meat, leaks onto the fabric. If the bag isn’t washed, the bacteria can contaminate other food you put into the bag on the next trip to the store.

    Gerba recommends washing reusable bags after you use them to tote raw meat.

    Although meat is usually wrapped, it may be tainted on the outside from leaked juice. Also, he said, avoid storing the bags in the car trunk, which is a hot breeding ground for germs in the summer.”

    To me, the solution is simple . . .

    Stop buying MEAT. : )

    • Might be some residuals on veggies left too.. So washing them is just sensible.

      • You’re right. There are other things that might contaminate the bags, but raw meat juice is featured in the article as the problem.

        I suspect that’s because almost anytime you visit the meat counter, packages are contaminated with leaking juice.

        So totes should be washed immediately if they’ve been used to carry meat, chicken, or fish.

  3. […] To see Carolyn’s article:  Reusable Bags May Present Health Risk […]

  4. Gotta love my old straw basket 🙂

Comments are closed.

