• June 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • feedburner

  • Follow me on Twitter

Dare to Make Mistakes . . . (via Spirit Lights The Way)


I especially like the part – Oh, I’ve had my moments,
And if I had it to do over again,
I’d have more of them.
In fact, I’d try to have nothing else.

Dare to Make Mistakes . . . IF I HAD MY LIFE TO LIVE OVER ~ attributed to Nadine Stair (at age 85) I'd dare to make more mistakes next time.   I'd relax, I would limber up. I would be sillier than I have been this trip.   I would take fewer things seriously.     I would take more chances. I would climb more mountains and swim more rivers.   I would eat more ice cream and less beans.   I would perhaps have more actual troubles,     but I'd have fewer imaginary ones. You see, … Read More

via Spirit Lights The Way

Space photo of the day. NASA says it’s a nebula, but it looks like a Klingon D7-class battlecruiser to me.


NASA says it’s a nebula, but it looks like a Klingon D7-class battlecruiser to me. :-]

 A Matter of Perspective

Image Credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech/UCLA http://www.nasa.gov/multimedia/imagegallery/iotd.html

A Matter of Perspective

The Seagull nebula, seen in this infrared mosaic from NASA’s Wide-field Infrared Survey Explorer, or WISE, draws its common name from it resemblance to a gull in flight. But it depends on your point of view. When the image is rotated 180 degrees it bears a passing resemblance to a galloping lizard — or perhaps a dragon or a dinosaur. The image spans an area about seven times as wide as the full moon, and three times as high (3.55 by 1.37 degrees), straddling the border between the constellations Monoceros and Canis Major (the Big Dog). So you might say this lizard is running with the Big Dog, while the gull is flying from it.

Astronomers catalog the nebula as IC 2177. This cosmic cloud is one of many sites of star formation within the Milky Way galaxy. It is located 3,800 light-years away from Earth, inside the Orion spur — the same partial spiral arm of the Milky Way where our solar system is located. The nebula is nearly 240 light-years across.

WISE is an all-sky survey, snapping pictures of the whole sky — from asteroids to stars to powerful, distant galaxies.

.

.

.

.

The D7-class battlecruiser was designed by Matt Jefferies to mimic the predatory nature of a manta ray. The vessel's basic configuration was used for all subsequent Klingon ships.

Composer born today – June 28. Richard Rodgers


Since I will be playing in Oklahoma! with the San Benito Stage Company next month (July 2010) I thought of this guy.  I have also played his South Pacific with this group, The Sound of Music and Oklahoma! before with other groups. (See My Music page for orchestras I have played with.)

.

Richard Rodgers

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Background information

Birth name: Richard Charles Rodgers

Born: 28 June 1902(1902-06-28) New York City, New York, USA

Died: December 30, 1979 (aged 77)  New York City, New York, USA

Genres: Musical theatre

Occupations: Composer, songwriter, playwright

Richard Charles Rodgers was an American composer of music for more than 900 songs and for 43 Broadway musicals. He also composed music for films and television. He is best known for his songwriting partnerships with the lyricists Lorenz Hart and Oscar Hammerstein II.

Rodgers is one of only two persons to have won an Emmy, a Grammy, an Oscar, and a Tony (known collectively as an EGOT), and a Pulitzer Prize (Marvin Hamlisch is the other).

Hart as lyricist

* One Minute Please

* Fly with Me (1920)

* Poor Little Ritz Girl (1920)

* The Melody Man (1924)

* The Garrick Gaieties (1925–26)

* Dearest Enemy (1925)

* The Girl Friend (1926)

* Peggy-Ann (1926)

* Betsy (1926)

* A Connecticut Yankee (1927)

* She’s My Baby (1928)

* Present Arms (1928)

* Chee-Chee (1928)

* Spring Is Here (1929)

* Heads Up! (1929)

* Ever Green (1930)

* Simple Simon (1930)

* America’s Sweetheart (1931)

* Love Me Tonight (1932)

* Jumbo (1935)

* On Your Toes (1936)

* Babes in Arms (1937)

* I’d Rather Be Right (1937)

* I Married an Angel (1938)

* The Boys from Syracuse (1938)

* Too Many Girls (1939)

* Higher and Higher (1940)

* Pal Joey (1940–41)

* By Jupiter (1942)

* Rodgers & Hart (1975), Rodgers and Hart revue musical

.

Hammerstein as lyricist

* Oklahoma! (1943)

* Carousel (1945)

* State Fair (1945) (film)

* Allegro (1947)

* South Pacific (1949)

* The King and I (1951)

* Me and Juliet (1953)

* Pipe Dream (1955)

* Cinderella (1957)

* Flower Drum Song (1958)

* The Sound of Music (1959)

* A Grand Night for Singing (1993), Rodgers and Hammerstein revue musical

* State Fair (1996) (musical)

.

Other lyricists and solo works

* Victory at Sea (1952) (Robert Russell Bennett)

* No Strings (1962) (lyrics by Rodgers)

* Do I Hear a Waltz? (1965) (Stephen Sondheim)

* Two by Two (1970) (Martin Charnin)

* Rex (1976) (Sheldon Harnick)

* I Remember Mama (1979) (Martin Charnin/Raymond Jessel)

.

More links:

http://www.notablebiographies.com/Pu-Ro/Rodgers-Richard.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rodgers_and_Hart

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rodgers_and_Hammerstein

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oscar_Hammerstein_II

Anyone have experience with PODs for artists and photographers


Repost of this blog entry. Any experience with any of these? Or with producing/reproducing art/photography – prints, souvenir  type artifacts – cups/mugs, t-shirts-canvas bags, etc., and so forth.  Looking for places to upload designs and/or have customers purchase. Especially looking for the place that will give the biggest commission or least cost to the artist.

Also interested in finding wholesale level producers both online and local, although I would rather not have to warehouse much.

Or…  any advice in general on trying to sell art/photography, both original and copies, etc. .

Also adding fineartamerica.com

Fine Art America - Buy Art and Sell Art Online

 

 

ZAZZLE.com

 

CafePress.comCafePress

to the list.

 

 

Does anyone out there had any experience (or know anyone who knows anyone who has) with the following PODs for artists/photographers?