Freedom of the artist.


“There are only two kinds of freedom in the world; the freedom of the rich and powerful, and the freedom of the artist and the monk who renounces possessions.”
—Anais Nin

I don’t seem to be able to acquire the former any more and I don’t want to be the last one, so I think I need to concentrate on the one in the middle. The artist. This includes not only a painter, or sculptor , etc. but a writer, a composer, etc.  A creator.  If artists gets rich, they are are often looked down on as commercial. And their power is not usually – at least universally -recognized until after their death. But the title does come with a certain amount of freedom.

4 Responses

  1. I don’t care who calls me what, just show me the money!

  2. I disagree with Anais on this one ~

    The most powerful freedom of all has nothing to do with money or renouncing possessions.

    It is freedom from Ego concerns which cause us to waste time and energy fretting and worrying about what others think . . . instead of thinking for ourselves.

    When we stop worrying about what Ego wants, we are free to be exactly who we were always meant to be.

  3. I think her sentence gave three choices although it is a little confusing. I think maybe the freedom of artist comes closest to what you are talking about.

Comments are closed.

