Mallow: another edible weed.


Mallow is next on the menu of edible weeds. The leaves are shapely and large, looking something like the geranium. In some parts of the country they grow as big as soup plates. Wild mallow grows anywhere, in yards, vacant lots, and beside the freeways here in California. I guess I should open my car door and have a snack the next time I am stuck in traffic.

Mallow leaves, crushed or blended, are a treatment for rashes and burns. One of the students said she chewed up a leaf and used it for an emergency poultice while hiking.

There is a story about the siege of Jerusalem during the War of Independence in 1948. Food supplies to the city were cut off. Mallow was an important source of nutrition to the imprisoned population then. The leaves were gathered, chopped fine and fried as patties or eaten raw. The seedpods were collected to be eaten raw or cooked. People who survived the siege will serve mallow patties, or stuff the leaves like cabbage rolls, on Israeli Independence Day, to commemorate that time. Here in class the mallow was merely chopped up and added to the wok. Hot olive oil and garlic will make anything taste good.

8 Responses

  1. Don’t the English grow mallow in their gardens for use in the kitchen? I know I’ve read that somewhere. I never actually knew what it was before. Does this mean I now have to try out geraniums and see if they taste good????

  2. Hot olive oil and garlic are exactly how I cook up greens ~ swiss chard, collards, beet greens, spinach, kale, etc.

    I expect that I would enjoy mallow. Thanks, CD!

  3. There are scented geraniums. Not the ones with the large flowers. though. I have some scented geranium recipes somewhere. I will post those too.
    But this is wild mallow, It grows everywhere out here (Bay Area CA)

  4. A friend introduced me to ‘Comfy’, last year. She gave me a small portion with root, and I planted it, and it grows now wonderfully, large, in back yard. She also told me to put it in blender and use for treatment of burns, and cuts, etc. etc. It has a flower also, and is really a fine plant within the garden. So, it’s like the Mallow leaves. Nice to know. thanks.

  5. Thanks admin for sharing the information ans back links. 🙂

Comments are closed.

