• July 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • feedburner

  • Follow me on Twitter

Elizabeth George says don’t give up.


Elizabeth George once said, “The best advice I ever received was from P.D. James upon the rejection of my first novel: ‘My dear, you have done something many people only dream of. You have written a novel. You must never give up.” So I didn’t.”

See more ‘best writing advice’ quotes in the latest issue of The Writer Magazine, August 2010. You can subscribe here.

http://www.writermag.com/en/The%20Magazine/Current%20Issue.aspxAugust 2010

5 Responses

  1. I can’t believe you mentioned two of my favorite writers in the same sentence. I have every book either one of them ever wrote!! P.D. James is my personal fav, but Elizabeth George is right on up there!! Have you read “What Came Before He Shot Her”? It’s heart wrenching.

  2. I have that book in the piles around here somewhere. The fact that she had a book rejected makes me feel a little better. Not much, but a little.

  3. I’ve recently had one rejected, so this makes me feel a little more optimistic 🙂

  4. Many of the household-name authors started with enough rejection notices to have papered a wall. Dogged persistence paid off.

    These days, there are viable self-publishing options as well, and quite a few authors have sacked the publishers who previously distributed their books, and gone that route instead with more recent works.

  5. Thanks for the comment from George (I just finished reading “Playing for the Ashes”) and P.D. James (another favorite of mine). At this moment, I really needed a bit of encouragement. I’ll keep going!

Comments are closed.

