• August 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • feedburner

  • Follow me on Twitter

Get here if you can.


I love this song…..  A blogging friend pointed out that the lyrics could relate to any friend or family member. I guess I should have chosen a different version of the song then. Oh well. the only thing I would change in the lyrics is to delete the “if you can.”   Just get here.

Here are the lyrics:

You can reach me by railway, you can reach me by trailway
You can reach me on an airplane, you can reach me with your mind
You can reach me by caravan, cross the desert like an Arab man
I don’t care how you get here, just – get here if you can

You can reach me by sail boat, climb a tree and swing rope to rope
Take a sled and slide down the slope, into these arms of mine
You can jump on a speedy colt, cross the border in a blaze of hope
I don’t care how you get here, just – get here if you can

There are hills and mountains between us
Always something to get over
If I had my way, surely you would be closer
I need you closer

You can windsurf into my life, take me up on a carpet ride
You can make it in a big balloon, but you better make it soon
You can reach me by caravan, cross the desert like an Arab man
I don’t care how you get here, just – get here if you can

I don’t care how you get here, just — get here if – you can.

5 Responses

  1. Love this. So glad your sharing. I feel it speaks not only as a love song, but as an analogy for any relationship, male female, female female, male male, if we think of it as closeness between people, and not only as a romantic love lyric. Thank you deepercolors.

  2. Sorry! The above may not read well. It’s been a long day. Been up about l8 hours. I meant merely the difference between a romantic involvement, and the simplicity of being friends, or relatives, or what not. I’m sure you understand what I was talking about. Thanks again.

  3. I know, I sometimes don’t say what I really meant to either. I agree about the song. It was of course, (I think) written for a lover-type in mind, but it could very well extend to any friend or loved one, whatever the relationship.

  4. Yes, it works as relevant to any relationship.

Comments are closed.

