A Poem a Day or Something . . .


Four attempts at spontaneous poems for National Poetry Month.  Napowrimo wants a Cinquain for day 5.  A what?  Heck I can’t even rhyme this quickly much less structure rhyme.  Aack! What have I gotten myself into?

INDEPENDENT LIVING

independent living
sign says seniors
over fifty-five
add another 
thirty years
or 
more for most
who live there
i

independence
dependent on
walkers and
chairs with wheels
spinning slowly
to that last roundup

big band music
from my mother’s time
old folks swaying
to the beat
as best they can
waiting for the end 
to arrive

SIRENS

sirens wailing
screaming
announcing
some catastrophe
somewhere
every day
more than one
wakes me up
rest evades me
repose captured
keening Banchees
lamenting
someone’s
tragedy.

SUDDENLY PSYCHIC

A friend of mine wrote
about crying
never quite stopping
a life that never quite started
now all gone.
I wondered if we
were kindred spirits 
in loss
or if he was 
suddenly psychic
reading my 
innermost sorrows

INTERRUPTIONS

Two sets of sirens
surround squawking crows
on this morning 
of whatever is
the opposite
of 
peaceful repose.

Find a quiet place,
the exercise says
write down your feelings
and conquer your fears

I take a deep breath
and start
number one.
What did you feel when …
hell ….

Interrupted by shrieking
garbage truck clangs
followed by car after car
speeding past signs
that tell them 
to slow down.

Write down what I really feel?
You don’t want to hear.

2 Responses

  1. You write good poems, but they’re all so sad. I’m sorry you’re not happy.

Comments are closed.

