A Poem a Day – Day 5 CINQUAIN


NaPoWriMo wants a Cinquain today.   Not sure I get the concept, but here’s my try.

“A cinquain is a poem that employs stanzas with five lines. Each line has a certain number of accented or stressed syllables, and a certain number of overall syllables per line. In the “American” cinquain, a form invented by a woman with the highly unfortunate name of Adelaide Crapsey, the number of stresses per line is 1-2-3-4-1, and the number of syllables is 2-4-6-8-2. So the first line would have two syllables, one stressed and one unstressed. The second line would have four syllables, two of which are stressed, and so on.  ”

CINQUAIN

I think
I’ll write an ode
in praise of poet’s month
it’s five lines long, oh wait, no ode
Cinquain!

2 Responses

  1. Haha, Simply Cute!

  2. I’ve never wrote a poem in this style! I will definitely have to remember NaPoWriMo for next month. I’d love to take part and try new ways of writing.

    enjoy national poetry month!

Comments are closed.

